My First Auto Awesome Photo on Google Plus

Nikon D5000 | 55mm | 1/13 | f/5.6 | ISO 1600

I welcome features that make photography more fun without my having to do much. In this case, I didn’t do anything aside from uploading a few photos of my dog in the holiday spirit to a Google+ album of mine. Soon after, I received a notification that an Auto Awesome photo had been created. I’d read about this new feature and never thought I’d use it. But, I also didn’t know that it would create without my permission. According to Google, here’s what ‘Auto Awesome’ does:

Auto Awesome creates fun new versions of your photos and videos. Your photos will be combined into short animations, wide panoramas, or merged into group shots where everyone looks good.

(Source: Google+ Help)

The effect applied here is ‘Twinkle’, and it has turned this ‘normal’ photo into what I consider a cinemagraph. That is, a still photograph in which a minor and repeated movement occurs. I’ve created a few cinemagraphs in the past and the process was definitely more involved as it required recording video, grabbing individual frames from that video, and layer masking in a photo editing software like Photoshop or GIMP. The fact that I did none of that here speaks volumes for this feature. It’s been a great debut for Auto Awesome and I’m looking forward to using it more.

Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

