Weekly Photo Challenge: Threes

For this week’s challenge, I decided to revisit a few photos I took almost two years ago for my brother’s farewell to his beloved Honda S2000. I immediately thought about this shoot when I read The Daily Post’s post about the three-picture story earlier in the week as they teased the upcoming weekly photo challenge.

In a nutshell, a three-picture story is a way to help you think about storytelling with images. To create a three-picture story, gather:

  1. An establishing shot: a broad photo of your subject.
  2. A relationship: two elements interacting with one another.
  3. A detail: a close-up of one part of your subject.

This is my take on a style of edit that’s referred to as HDR Black & White.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Threes

  1. I have an idea for a 4-part template: your first three (establishing shot, relationship, detail), plus a final “parting shot” or “closing frame.” I’m sure we could come up with other narrative templates too. I’ll try to attach a 4-part series, but we can talk about it offline too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

