Long Exposure with a GoPro

This post is inspired by Digital Photography School’s weekly photo challenge theme, fast cars. Initially, I thought about doing some panning, but I wanted to try something new — long exposure within a moving car.

After searching around, I found a post on light painting with a GoPro Hero 3 Black, the generation before the current model. The post details the entire process, but my main takeaway was this:

A new feature to this model is that the exposure will lock in time-lapse interval mode (stills). So if you want to do light painting, you need to get the longest possible exposure, which is a half second at 2.8 at ISO 400. [1]

I had a lightbulb moment and immediately wanted to get out and try it after reading that post. I know my Hero 3+ Silver Edition also has a fixed f/2.8 aperture, and I’ll assume the ISO is the same as well.

Without knowing the shutter speed’s upper bound and whether or not this model has exposure lock, I figured the camera would still do a longer exposure due to low-light conditions.

This is the result of setting the timelapse interval to 10 seconds and going for a drive.

View the current crop of GoPro cameras on Amazon.

Sources:

  1. How To Light Paint With A GoPro Hero3 Black (GetawayMoments)

Leave a Reply

