Film Rekindled: Fuji Superia 200 or X-TRA 400

This is my first post in this project that’s not centered around photos from a roll. My hope is that posts like these will help me remember my thoughts in the future and also help someone who may encounter the same choice.

I often find myself wanting to shoot at f/1.8 in daylight.  Most of the time, the camera would max out at 1/2000 of a second and the LCD would blink to let me know I’m overexposed. Now that I think about it, I never paid attention to how many stops over. I’d usually decrease the aperture until the blinking stopped.

Because of this, I considered buying Fuji Superia 200 when I went to Walmart to purchase more Superia 400 — the film I’ve mainly been using.  If I’m not mistaken, the ISO 200 film would allow me to shoot wide open while being one stop less overexposed. It also had price going for it as the 4-pack was $2-3 cheaper.

There are also characteristics that should be considered along with the price and speed. I’ve included some of the ones I found useful.

Fujifilm Superia 200

Strengths:

  • Medium contrast
  • Vivid colors
  • Little grain
  • Decent skin tones
  • Excellent sharpness

Weaknesses:

  • Reds are a little oversaturated
  • Not as sharp as Superia 100

Fujifilm  Superia X-TRA 400

Strengths:

  • Not too much contrast
  • Good blacks
  • Excellent colors
  • Fine grain
  • Saturation

Weaknesses:

  • Not good with mixed light
  • Poor highlights
  • Lacks sharpness
  • Grain
  • Low contrast
  • Low saturation

At the end of the day, I decided to stick with Superia 400 since I haven’t been shooting with it long enough. Many of the strengths or weaknesses of film are subjective. A film with low contrast can be a strength or weakness depending on who you ask. I can only discover the nuances and what I like/dislike about each film by shooting more with the same.

As I said in my last post, it’s been a struggle for me to finish at least a roll per month but I’m looking forward to shooting as much as I can during my first visit to California.

Check out more from Film Rekinded here.

3 thoughts on “Film Rekindled: Fuji Superia 200 or X-TRA 400

  1. 200, 400, 800, I love them all! I haven’t found the higher speed films to have much more perceptible grain compared to 200, but you’re right that they all have their own strengths and weaknesses. I wouldn’t say Superia 400 lacks contrast though, but maybe it’s time to get a few more rolls out and make sure; I haven’t used any for a year and a half now…

    Like

    1. It’d be cool to see some Superia 400 from you. I liked your Tri-X shots, it’s definitely on my list of films to try next as it seems to be one of the more popular black and white films. Thanks for your input.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. According to Kodak it’s the best-selling black & white film in the world, and not really hard to see why, just looking at it! 🙂 It’s also what pretty much every student photography class uses, great for people just starting out with manual cameras and doing their own processing.
        .
        Cliche perhaps, but if I could only shoot with one film for the rest of my life…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

