Looking back on 2014

I believe it’s important to look forward, but, as with everything, there’s always a balance. The purpose of this balance is to look back for a brief moment to see what’s been done, what I enjoyed, what didn’t go too well, and what I look forward to.

First off, in terms of writing, this year has been my most prolific yet. 94 of the blog’s 144 total posts were published. Although most of them were weekly photo challenges, the increase in commitment was reflected with a 7x increase in page views compared to last year. On the flip side, I had almost the same amount of views in 2011 with only 7 posts. Now that’s a case for quality over quantity!

With that said, one of my goals for 2015 is to publish more regularly. You can look forward to a new post at least every Wednesday and Sunday (Mondays also, if I’m able to complete the weekly photo challenge). I find that setting aside a time, even scheduling it, to create in batch allows me to be more productive, save time, and also to make it a habit. This quote comes to mind:

I write only when inspiration strikes. Fortunately it strikes every morning at nine o’clock sharp.

– W. Somerset Maugham

Things I enjoyed doing, along with the weekly photo challenges, include my two projects Film Rekindled and, more recently, How I Processed It. Both projects approach the techMinimalist philosophy from both angles. The former eliminates all software and explores photography with film. The latter embraces numerous apps and the iPhone — a device that’s becoming increasingly ubiquitous. Oh, writing haikus have been really fun as well.

Things that didn’t go too well include not finishing the Single Object project and writing sporadically. I love the gift that inspired the project, but I just ran out of ideas. As for writing frequency, the year started off strong with 14 posts in January, but that amount wasn’t surpassed in any of the following months. As I said earlier, my goal will be to publish on a schedule to balance the output every month. My hope is to be able to have my creativity fuel my inspiration and not the other way around.

I look forward to better crafting and conveying the techMinimalist philosophy that I alluded to earlier. I will continue working on both the Film Rekindled and How I Processed It projects, and I’ve got some ideas to take those in new directions.

Let me know in the comments if there’s anything you’d like for me to write about or improve upon. Feedback is always appreciated. Thanks for being a part of this and good luck with your goals in 2015!

Leave a Reply

