Day 5: What advice would you give for getting unstuck?

The question is, “Why are you stuck?”

Do you lack inspiration?

Not sure what the next step is?

Are you afraid that it’s already been done?

I’ve had my fair share of being stuck. And I’ve asked myself these same questions plenty of times.

Fortunately, there’s a way to get unstuck and I’ll let you know how to do it. But first, let me share a specific time when I became unstuck:

I used to think that real photography meant that I had to take photos with a DSLR. So what happened? Whenever I saw a photo opportunity, I wouldn’t take it because I thought it wasn’t worth it if not taken with a real camera. Of course, the DSLR stayed at home much more often than my phone.

I was stuck in that mindset for a while. I was not prolific. But as soon as I made a conscious decision to start taking photos with my phone, I began taking photos of anything and everything.

So what’s the lesson?

Create an environment where you allow yourself to become unstuck. I always have my phone with me.

Think of one small task that you can do today to get going in the right direction. Since I always have my phone with me, taking it out of my pocket and snapping a photo was too easy.

By breaking it down to the most simple step, the next step is always clear. That tiny effort will snowball into much more.

Remember, action primes the pump for inspiration.

2 thoughts on “Day 5: What advice would you give for getting unstuck?

  1. Good tips, Andre! Mobile phone photography has become quite popular lately too. Proof that DSLRs aren’t the only ones that get to have fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

