Give Yourself the Chance to Find Your Vision

Some say there is nothing original and that everything has been photographed.  It’s hard to argue with that, but I would say that not everything has been photographed through my Vision.

– Cole Thompson [1]

There’s not much I can add to that. But if you’re beginning your photography journey, I think there are some limiting beliefs to shatter in order to give yourself the chance to find your Vision. I remember these when I started out not too long ago, and they don’t go away either.

Here are some common ones:

  • “I don’t have the eye for it.”
  • “It’s already been done.”
  • “There’s nothing to shoot around here.”
  • “I’ll never be as good as…”

Here’s what I’ve realized:

  • If I allowed myself to believe that I didn’t have the eye for it and that it’s already been done, that would have become my reality because I wouldn’t have tried.
  • If I allowed myself to believe that there was nothing to shoot around where I live, that I could only do photography in better places, that would have become my reality because I wouldn’t have tried to find the beauty in everyday life.
  • If I allowed myself to believe that I’ll never be as good as so and so, I wouldn’t have started.

As I said, these thoughts don’t go away. But whenever they arise in my mind, I tell myself “thanks for sharing,” and continue creating.

That’s how I’ve given myself the chance, and that’s how I continue to.

Have you experienced any of these limiting beliefs? How do you shatter them? Sources:

  1. Vision Drawings: Session #1. (Silver Zen)
Leave a Reply

